Skip to Content

June in Buffalo Photograph Collection

About the Collection

The Irene Haupt Photographs of June in Buffalo document the annual contemporary music festival held at the University at Buffalo, The State University of New York. The festival was begun in 1975 by composer Morton Feldman who directed the festival 1975-78 and in 1980. The festival was dormant from 1981 through 1985. David Felder revived the festival in 1986 and has been its director since that time.

June in Buffalo provides young composers the opportunity to work with senior composers from around the world. The invited faculty members not only have works performed at the festival, they also present lectures, seminars, and master classes. The student composers have the opportunity to hear their works in performance by professional musicians of the highest caliber.

This online collection is a compilation of photographs by Irene Haupt beginning with the 2000 June in Buffalo. Haupt, a graduate of the State University of New York at Buffalo, has been documenting the Buffalo arts scene through her photography since 1976. During that time she has worked for, or with, some of the most notable institutions in Buffalo, including the Irish Classical Theatre, Studio Arena Theater, the Kavinoky Theatre, the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, the Theatre of Youth, the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, and the State University of New York at Buffalo. In addition to her specialty of theater photography, Irene Haupt has also devoted much of her career to the photography of musicians and musical events, especially the contemporary music scene in Buffalo. A broader representation of Irene Haupt's photographs of musical activities in Buffalo are also available online in the Irene Haupt Photographs of Musicians in Buffalo .

The musicians who have participated in the June in Buffalo festival include University at Buffalo faculty members David Felder, Cort Lippe, Jeffrey Stadelman, Cheryl Gobbetti-Hoffman, Jonathan Golove, Tony Conrad, Stephen Manes, Tony Arnold, Magnus Mårtensson, Jon Nelson, Movses Pogossian, and Jan Williams. Visiting artists have included Lukas Foss, Amy Williams, Helena Bugallo, Charles Wuorinen, Joji Yuasa, George Crumb, Augusta Read Thomas, Bernard Rands, Philip Glass, Steve Reich, Harvey Sollberger, Roger Reynolds, John Harbison, Dora Ohrenstein, Philippe Manoury, Jonathan Harvey, John Corigliano, and the New York New Music Ensemble.

Complete details about the annual collections can be found in their respective finding aids.